and crafts), social education (health and family life), recreation (sports and games), and subjects such as investment and driver education. Professional development and refresher courses are also available.

Courses may be formal or non-formal. Formal courses are structured units of study presented systematically. Non-formal courses are activities for which registration is not required, but where attendance for a scheduled period is necessary.

## 4.4 Federal involvement

## 4.4.1 Department of National Defence

The Department of National Defence instructs and trains members of the armed forces and is responsible for the schooling of children of service personnel in government quarters. The department also finances and operates three tuition-free colleges: the Royal Military College of Canada (RMC) in Kingston, Ontario; Royal Roads Military College (RRMC) in Victoria, British Columbia; and the Collège militaire royal (CMR) de Saint-Jean in Saint-Jean, Quebec. These institutions educate and train officer cadets and commissioned officers for careers in the Canadian forces.

RMC was founded in 1876 and accorded degree-granting status in 1959. The college accepts high school graduates and offers fouryear degree programs in arts, engineering and science, and graduate studies in selected disciplines.

RRMC was established in 1942 as a naval cadet college. It became a Canadian services college in 1948 and was accorded degree-granting status in 1975. RRMC accepts high school graduates into arts, science and engineering programs and also offers degrees in physics and oceanography, physics and computer science, general science, and military and strategic studies. Engineering students transfer to RMC after completion of the second year.

CMR was established in 1952 and from 1969 to 1985 was affiliated with l'Université de Sherbrooke, which conferred degrees on CMR graduates. In 1985, the province of Quebec accorded degree-granting status to CMR. The college offers degree programs in arts, science, administration and computer science. After third year, officer cadets go to RMC for engineering or to RRMC for its specialized programs.

## 4.4.2 Indirect participation

The growth of education, both in size and importance, made it almost inevitable that the federal government would play some role in its development, even though the constitution restricts direct participation. Many departments have educational functions, but they tend to be financial, such as grants for postsecondary and minority language education, funds for citizenship and language instruction for immigrants, and sponsorship of manpower training programs.

Department of the Secretary of State. In 1963, the education support branch of the Department of the Secretary of State was established to advise the Cabinet on postsecondary education. In 1967, it assumed responsibility for administering those parts of the Federal-Provincial Fiscal Arrangements Act related to postsecondary finance. By 1973, the branch's authority had been enlarged to include development, formulation, implementation and review of all federal policies and programs on education. This entailed communication with provincial governments, the academic community and national organizations, and co-operation with the Department of External Affairs to co-ordinate Canada's international efforts.

In addition to administering postsecondary adjustment payments, the branch took over the Canada Student Loans Program from the Department of Finance in 1977. Established in 1964 under the Canada Student Loans Act, the program guarantees loans to students whose resources are insufficient to provide for the cost of full- or part-time studies at the postsecondary level.

Applications for loans are assessed by provincial governments according to criteria agreed upon by both levels of government. Federal and provincial officials meet regularly to review student assistance issues so that all applicants are treated as equitably as possible.

The loans, negotiated by students at banks or other financial institutions designated by the Secretary of State, are guaranteed by the government of Canada. The government pays interest on the loans while borrowers are enrolled in fulltime studies and for six months afterwards; there is no interest subsidy on loans to part-time students. Students make repayment arrangements with the financial institution. Under the Act, the federal government provides an alternative payment to Quebec, which operates a separate student assistance program. All other provinces complement the federal program with various student assistance programs of their own.

Official languages in education. The federal government provides financial assistance to the provinces and territories in support of the additional costs they incur in the maintenance and